The $100start up tour at Ahmedabad.

1st Dec was AIDS day and the day for Chris Guillebeau’s $100 start up tour at IIM Ahmadabad. I already pre-ordered the The $100 start up book when I first saw it because I knew from its cover that it has some ingredient of inspiration in it. And as I guessed, when I read the book, it did have a lot of insightful ideas which I never read before. It encouraged me to think that even I can start a business of my own which was contrary to what I thought earlier that business can only be started with heavy investment. Moving on to the event, it was organized at IIM, the top management institute of the country. So there were two reasons to go, one as Chris and the other was IIM. I earlier mailed Chris to confirm whether I needed any print to enter the campus. And he said it was not necessary but when I entered the campus, the security personnel asked me about the invitation card. I tried to convince him about the event and after explaining the same to his superior, they allowed me. I can’t express the feelings I had when I entered the campus. It was as if I always wanted to go there and this was the day. As I entered the auditorium, there were only a handful of people but as the event started, the auditorium was full. I saw Chris and his wife Jolie and couldn’t believe for a moment. I know there are also humans but it’s a different feeling when you see a person living thousands of miles away from you and inspiring you in a way never before. I was waiting only for his session and finally he spoke. I had a question for him and after all speakers finished speaking, I was handed over the mike for the first question. He gave me a detailed answer and it was as usual an inspiring one. Luckily, I was awarded with discounts coupons from infibeam.com for asking a question. Throughout the session, I was wondering whether I would be able to meet Chris. As the speakers stood up, I quickly ran towards the stage and few people already got to the stage to talk to him. I was sure I’ll get a chance to meet now. When I gave him my book for an autograph, I introduced myself as the ‘Email guy’, which I told Chris through our talk via mail. He was glad to see me. On the page where I told him to give autograph was written, ‘My 101 goals’. He gave me a compliment that it was a nice book and turned on to see its cover page. It was Jack Canfield’s Key to living the Law of Attraction. I took a snap with him and finally said goodbye with a handshake and a final remark, ‘Keep changing the world’. When I got down the stage, Jolie, his wife for standing near the stage waiting for him to go for lunch. I went to her and congratulated her for the great job they both were doing, that they both make a nice pair. She gave a sweet smile and thanked me. I took my lunch at the campus and took an exit as I had to meet a friend of mine at Ahmadabad. When I left, it was like a dream come true. I was feeling like a winner with Chris because in spite of doing such a great work, he was so down to earth, which is a rare quality these days and it was one of the best experience of my life. Chris Guillebeau had helped me already and after meeting him, he has inspired me even more. Chris, if you are reading this blog post, I want to tell you that I can’t repay you what you’ve done for me unintentionally but I’ll surely repay it to the world one day by helping and inspiring people the most.2

11

Leave a Reply

